Curriculum - Our Lady of Dolours, Chatswood


At Our Lady of Dolours, we follow the Australian Curriculum for NSW schools, as directed by NESA. Being part of the Diocese of Broken Bay, we also implement Religious Education to ensure our students are offered experiences of following Jesus as members of the Catholic community.

There are seven Key Learning Areas (KLAs):

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Human Society and its Environment (History and Geography)
  • Science and Technology
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Creative Arts (Music, Visual Art, Drama, Dance)

Primary schools in NSW follow a curriculum based on stages of learning. Each stage is approximately equivalent to two school years. For each stage there is knowledge, understanding, skills, values and attitudes that each student should develop.

The stages are organised as follows;

Stage Grade(s)
Early Stage 1 Kindergarten
Stage 1 Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2 Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3 Year 5 and Year 6